Parker review

We love the nice description of  Stephan Reinhardt. Thanks. 2013 Weninger Blaufränkisch Kalkofen 93 From calcareous Eurendsina soils, the 2013 Blaufränkisch Kalkofen is a remarkably fine red. Fermented on the skins for two weeks and aged for 20 months in 500-liter barrels, this dark-colored red offers a beautifully elegant bouquet of perfectly ripe dark berries […]

Hochäcker Boden

Hochäcker

Loam Hochäcker is among the oldest sites in Horitschon. Its rockless, hard, and loamy substratum is interspersed with iron, which is characteristic of traditional Blaufränkisch soil. Our forty-year-old vines produce highest quality grapes every harvest. Blaufränkisch Red berry fruit, delicate forest berries, subtle notes of cherry, spices, and tobacco. Freshly structured on the palate. A […]

Kirchholz Boden

Kirchholz

Loam and Gneiss The Kirchholz site borders directly on the Hochäcker site. Only a field path separates them, and yet on this side, the upper soil layer consisting of loam and sandy gravel can be as thick as half a meter, which enhances drainage. In its composition of clay and loam the subsoil is similar […]

Dürrau

Dürrau

Loam A slightly southeastern-facing ridge. The site with the heaviest and deepest loamy topsoil and a very high clay content. Here is where our Blaufränkisch vines planted in 1960 grow. The soil is rich in iron, which can be seen clearly in the rust-brown patches throughout. The dense loamy layer always provides the roots with […]

Saybritz Boden

Saybritz

Slate In Greataunt Emma Schürmann’s little vineyard – the best site on Eisenberg – Blaufränkisch grapes have grown for 45 years on a blue and green slate substratum beneath heavily calcareous clayey loamy soil. What the land and its people bring forth on this steep southern slope has awakened the desire in us to tap […]

Kalkofen

Limestone Surrounded by eighteenth-century mulberry trees, this south-facing site lies at an elevation of 360 meters above sea level. It is located in Ritzing, making it the most westerly vineyard of Central Burgenland. Climatically it is our coolest site; the soil and the southern orientation, however, provide warmth. In former times quicklime was produced here, […]

Steiner

Gneiss and mica schist The Steiner site in Sopron lies at the southwestern tip of Lake Neusiedl on a gentle, eastward-facing slope. In the 1680 town chronicles this site was classified as the finest and most valuable vineyard in all of western Hungary (present-day Burgenland). The gneiss and mica schist, which are present all the […]

Hochäcker

Hochäcker Boden

Lehm Die Lage Hochäcker gehört zu den ältesten Rieden in Horitschon. Ihr steinloser, harter, lehmiger Untergrund ist mit Eisen durchsetzt. Das macht sie zu einem traditionellen Boden für Blaufränkisch. Unsere Rebstöcke im Alter von 40 Jahren bringen hier zu jeder Ernte Trauben höchster Qualität. Blaufränkisch Rotbeerige Frucht, feine Waldbeeren, zarte Anklänge nach Kirsche, Gewürzen und […]

Kirchholz

Kirchholz Boden

Lehm und Gneis Die Riede Kirchholz grenzt direkt an die Lage Hochäcker. Nur ein Feldweg liegt zwischen beiden. Und dennoch ist hier die lehmige Oberschicht bis zu einem halben Meter tief mit sandigen Kiessteinen gemischt, was den Boden durchlässiger macht. Der Unterboden in seinem Ton- und Lehmanteil gleicht dem Hochäcker. Hier wächst Blaufränkisch an Rebstöcken […]

Dürrau

Dürrau

Lehm / Ton Ein leicht gegen Südost geneigter Rücken. Auf dem schwersten und tiefgründigsten Lehmboden mit sehr hohem Tongehalt stehen hier unsere Blaufränkisch-Reben, die 1960 ausgepflanzt wurden. Der Boden enthält sehr viel Eisen, was man an rostbraunen Flecken in der Erde gut erkennen kann. Im dichten Lehmboden kann stets genügend Wasser gespeichert werden. Unser kühlster Boden. Blaufränkisch Das Wasser im […]

Saybritz

Saybritz Boden

Schiefer Im kleinen Weingarten der Großtante Emma Schürmann, in der besten Lage am Eisenberg, wachsen seit 45 Jahren Blaufränkisch-Trauben auf einem Boden aus blauem und grünem Schiefer, unter einem Tonlöss mit starkem Kalkgehalt. Was die Erde und ihre Menschen hier aus dem steilen Südhang hervorbringen, hat die Lust in uns geweckt, ihren Kräften auch die […]

Kalkofen

Kalkofen Boden

Kalk Umsäumt von Maulbeerbäumen aus dem 18. Jahrhundert, liegt diese Südlage auf 360 m Seehöhe. Sie befindet sich in Ritzing und ist damit der westlichste Weingarten des Mittelburgenlandes. Klimatisch ist er unsere kühlste Lage, der Boden und die südliche Ausrichtung hingegen geben ihm Wärme. Hier wurde früher Kalk gebrannt. Daher auch der hohe pH-Wert im Boden. […]

Steiner

Steiner Boden

Gneis und Glimmer Die Lage Steiner in Sopron liegt im südwestlichsten Winkel des Neusiedler Sees, in leichter Hangneigung Richtung Osten. In den Annalen von Ödenburg wurde dieser Weingarten 1680 zum besten und teuersten Weinberg von ganz Westungarn (heutiges Burgenland) klassifiziert. Der Gneis und Glimmerschiefer, der bis an die Oberfläche kommt, macht den Boden durchlässig, daher trocken […]