Rage against the machine

Rage

Design by Weninger (available free of charge for affiliated winemakers)

Weninger against the machine

 

After a robust Facebook discussion in the past year, it became clear to me how I wanted my 2018 harvest t-shirt to look.

 

We are known for our commitment to hand-harvesting. Not out of a dogmatic attitude but out of respect for certain cultural aspects. Of course, we are also finding it more and more difficult to find the people needed for the task, but we will certainly never give up on hand-harvesting. There are a number of reasons that make it a must in our opinion.

 

First of all: The Quality

 

In the aforementioned Facebook discussion, it quickly became clear to me that the quality issue would not help me to win the argument against the defenders of machine harvesting. It may well be that, thanks to the new generation of machine harvesters, the quality of the harvested grapes is no longer compromised, at least at first sight. But there is much more at stake. Here is a significant example: At school, when my son was taking part in a class project about viticulture, the machine harvester was depicted as the future, whereas hand-picking was classified as a thing of the past – outdated and obsolete.

 

The reality in our region speaks volumes: in Deutschkreutz there are definitely more than 10 machines operational and also in Horitschon, more than half of all wineries are said to harvest mechanically nowadays. My arguments against the knocking or shaking of vines also led to a dead-end. Of course, looking at it this way, many of the wine farmer’s interventions, such as the removal of leaves and shoots, also hurt the vine. Here we can quickly see that even a biodynamic wine farmer is a guardian of culture and that these activities have little to do with nature. The term “natural wine” is equally misleading, but that’s another story. In the culture of wine farming, people do all sorts of things to improve the wine, but they also take into account the vine’s well-being. Simply because they plan to work with it for a long time.

 

Whenever you talk to wine makers, they always mention the soil – and this is a good thing. They talk about the character and flavour nuances that this or that soil type lends the wine; they talk about how they work, plant and care for the soil. Its significance cannot be overestimated and those who know me, know that the expression of the soil is more important to me than the grape variety, much as I love Blaufränkisch. Everyone keeps speaking about the soils, yet more and more often they drive over them with heavy machinery. How disastrous the effects of the consequent soil compaction are on the entire vineyard ecosystem cannot just be swept under the rug!

Secondly: The Culture

 

I remember it very well. As a child, I loved helping out with the harvest, because apart from the hard work (mostly in rubber boots, to defy the wet autumn weather), there was also a lot of chatter, and with the local pensioners telling stories there was never a dull moment. We drank “spritzers” or grape juice, we ate and we sat on benches in the vineyards. It’s no wonder: food brings people together. During harvest time, the vineyards were buzzing with activity and I like to imagine that they also loved this time of the year…

 

It is unnecessary to paint the opposite picture, but I think that everyone would agree that the ruckus alone of a machine harvester could never compare to the pleasant hustle and bustle of a group of people hand-picking.

 

Thirdly: The Cultural Landscape and Free Farmers

 

Let’s for a moment think about agriculture and take another look into history. Isn’t it exactly the same situation with combine harvesters? In the past, there would be 100 workers with flails in the field, today they have all – with the exception of the driver – become obsolete. Before, it was possible to make a living in our region with 15 hectares of land; today a farmer needs 200 ha. And even then, he is degraded to a mere grant recipient and voting puppet of the political parties. This is not what a proud and free farmer looks like.

 

Today, we live and work in a sector of agriculture whose products are still of value. We as wine farmers are appreciated and our wines enjoy some renown – sometimes even internationally. But if we continue to increasingly industrialise viticulture, we will inevitably end up there where agriculture finds itself nowadays. The way we farm our vineyards will in the end not be determined by us, but by a directive, and so we will indirectly become employees of a system that is everything but sustainable and future-oriented. At that point, the past will indeed become better than the present…

 

This is why I am going to wear my RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE harvest t-shirt with pride.

In order to promote hand-harvesting in Austria, we have offered the design of the t-shirt free of charge to the affiliated wine makers (currently that includes Triebaumer, Wachter Wiesler, Claus Preisinger, Michael Gindl, Harmut Aubell, Weingut Rothe, Winkler-Hermaden, Anita & Hans Nittnaus, Schützenhof, Sattlerhof). All other wine makers are welcome to contact us.

T-Shirt-Design: Christoph Gratzer

Click here to buy 

(English translation by Silvia Hurst)

Rage against the machine

Rage

Großer Dank an die Kollegen die mitmachen!  Aktueller Stand: Triebaumer, Wachter Wiesler, Claus Preisinger, Michael Gindl, Harmut Aubell, Weingut Rothe, Winkler-Hermaden, Anita & Hans Nittnaus, Schützenhof, Sattlerhof, Milan Nestarec, Albrecht Schwegler, Horst Hummel, Bencze, Uibel, Renner Sistas, Joiseph, Weingut Neus, Weingut Eymann, Martin Diwald, Weingut Hager Matthias viele mehr!.

Weninger against the machine

 

Nach einer heftigen Facebook-Diskussion im letzten Jahr war für mich klar, wie mein Lese-T-Shirt 2018 aussehen würde.

 

Wir sind bekennende Handleser. Nicht aus Dogmatismus, sondern vor dem Hintergrund kultureller Aspekte. Natürlich wird es auch für uns immer schwieriger, die dafür notwendigen Menschen zu finden, doch wir geben die Handlese bestimmt nicht auf. Eine Reihe von Gründen sind dafür ausschlaggebend.

 

Erstens: Qualität

 

In der besagten Facebook-Diskussion wurde mir schnell klar, dass ich mit Qualitätsbedenken gegen die Verfechter der Lesemaschine nicht ankommen werde. Gut möglich, dass Bedenken hinsichtlich der Qualität der gelesenen Trauben dank der neuen Generation der Lesemaschinen ausgeräumt sind, zumindest auf den ersten Blick. Doch es geht um viel mehr. Ein bezeichnendes Beispiel: Als mein Sohn in der Schule an einem Klassenprojekt teilnahm, bei dem es um Weinbau ging, wurde die Lesemaschine als die Zukunft dargestellt, die Handlese hingegen lief unter „früher“, als veraltet und überholt.

 

Die Realität in unserer Region spricht Bände: in Deutschkreutz sind bestimmt mehr als 10 Maschinen unterwegs und auch in Horitschon dürfte mittlerweile mehr als die Hälfte der Winzer maschinell ernten. Meine Argumente gegen das Abschlagen (Rütteln) der Reben führten ebenfalls ins Leere. Schon klar: viele Tätigkeiten, die der Winzer verrichtet, wie etwa die Entfernung von Laub und Trieben verletzen so gesehen auch die Rebe. Hier wird dann auch schnell klar, dass selbst ein biodynamischer Weinbauer ein Kulturpfleger ist und diese Tätigkeiten mit der Natur wenig zu tun haben – auch der Begriff „Naturwein“ führt so in die Irre, aber das ist eine andere Geschichte. In der Kultur der Bewirtschaftung macht der Mensch alles Mögliche, um den Wein besser zu machen, doch er bezieht das Wohl der Rebe mit ein. Einfach weil er lange mit ihr arbeiten will.

 

Spricht man mit Winzern, kommt – und das ist gut so – immer der Boden ins Spiel. Welche Charakteristik und Geschmacknuancen verleiht dieser oder jener Bodentyp dem fertigen Wein, wie wird er bearbeitet, begrünt, gepflegt. Seine Bedeutung können wir gar nicht hoch genug schätzen und wer mich kennt, weiß, dass mir der Ausdruck des Bodens wichtiger als die Rebsorte ist, bei aller Liebe zum Blaufränkisch, versteht sich. Alle sprechen über Böden und immer mehr befahren sie mit schwerem Gerät. Wie verheerend sich die daraus resultierende Bodenverdichtung auf das gesamte Ökosystem Weingarten auswirkt, kann doch nicht einfach unter den Tisch gewischt werden!

Zweitens: Kultur

 

Ich erinnere mich gut daran. Als Kind half man gerne bei der Lese mit, denn neben der harten Arbeit (meist mit Gummistiefeln, um dem oft nassen Herbst zu trotzen), gab es viel zu reden, die Pensionisten des Ortes erzählten Geschichten, langweilig wurde es nie. Es wurden „Spritzer“ oder Traubensaft getrunken, es wurde gegessen, wir saßen auf Bänken im Weingarten. Kein Wunder, Essen bringt die Leute zusammen. Während der Ernte „wurlte“ es in den Rieden geradezu und ich kann mir vorstellen, dass selbst die Reben diese Zeit liebten…

 

Es ist müßig, das Gegenbild zu zeichnen aber ich denke, dass jedem klar sein muss, dass alleine das Geräusch einer Lesemaschine dem Vergleich mit dem Menschenlärm einer Lesegruppe niemals standhalten kann.

 

Drittens: Kulturlandschaft und Freie Bauern

 

Denken wir an die Landwirtschaft und blicken wir ein weiteres Mal in die Vergangenheit. War es nicht ganz genau so beim Mähdrescher? Früher standen 100 Arbeiter mit dem Dreschflügel am Feld, heute sind sie alle – bis auf den Fahrer – obsolet. Konnte man früher in unserer Region mit 15 Hektar Land das Auskommen finden, braucht heute ein Landwirt 200 ha. Selbst dann wird er zum Förderungsempfänger und zum Stimmvieh der Politik degradiert. Ein stolzer, freier Bauer sieht anders aus.

 

Wir leben und arbeiten derzeit in einem Teil der Landwirtschaft, dessen Produkte noch Wert haben. Wir als Weinbauern werden geschätzt, unsere Weine finden (manchmal weltweite) Beachtung. Doch wenn wir den Weinbau immer weiter industrialisieren, werden wir unausweichlich dort enden, wo jetzt die Landwirtschaft steht. Wie wir unsere Weingärten bewirtschaften, werden am Ende nicht wir bestimmen, sondern eine Richtlinie, und indirekt werden wir zu Angestellten eines Systems, das alles andere als nachhaltig und zukunftsweisend ist. Das wird dann der Zeitpunkt sein, in dem „früher“ tatsächlich besser als heute wird…

 

Darum werde ich mein Ernte-T-Shirt RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE mit Stolz tragen.

Um die Handlese in Österreich zu fördern haben wir das Design an befreundete Winzer freigegeben. Weitere Winzer können sich gerne melden.

T-Shirt-Design: Christoph Gratzer

zu kaufen hier